Foundation in Accountancy (FIA)


FIA is an entry-level diploma course developed by the Association of Certified Chartered Accountants (ACCA), with the needs and expectations of employers in mind. FIA offers various entry points, together with its flexibility to opt for the most appropriate entry route to progress to upper levels of the ACCA qualification.

The ACCA consists of three levels.

These levels are:

  • Skills level
  • Fundamental level
  • Professional level

Students are expected to pass up to 14 exams where they do not have any exemption. Along with passing the 14 exams, they would be required to have a supervised work experience of 3 years in a field relevant to accountancy and go through an ethics module.

The whole process takes about 3 to 4 years on average, once students have all these requirement, they are entitled to be a member of the ACCA.


Career Prospect

Obtaining an FIA diploma qualification gives one the opportunity to be offered employment in almost all finance-related industries such as the banking, auditing and finance departments of all industries. In addition, the FIA diploma also is an entry point for people aspiring to pursue higher accounting qualifications such as the ACCA and CIMA.

Eligibility/Admission Criteria: The entry requirement of the FIA programme is five (5) WASSCE credits, including both English language and Mathematics.