Association of Chartered Accountants (ACCA) Part 1


The Association of Chartered Certified Accountants (ACCA) is one of the most highly respected and valued accounting qualifications available internationally. Gaining an ACCA qualification is evidence that the holder possesses skills and knowledge, which are in high demand by employers in almost all industries.

The ACCA consists of three levels.

These levels are:

  • Skills level
  • Fundamental level
  • Professional level

Students are expected to pass up to 14 exams where they do not have any exemption. Along with passing the 14 exams, they would be required to have a supervised work experience of 3 years in a field relevant to accountancy and go through an ethics module.

The whole process takes about 3 to 4 years on average, once students have all these requirement, they are entitled to be a member of the ACCA.


ACCA 1 001    Accountant in Business

ACCA 1 002    Management Accounting

ACCA 1 003    Financial Accounting

Duration: 6 months

Cost: D5,500 / paper + external  fees

Career Prospect

Upon successful completion of the ACCA professional examination with relevant working experience, graduates will be able to become Chartered Certified Accountants, and work in any aspect of finance and business, often in senior management positions. Graduates can work as auditors, tax consultants and accountants.

The benefits to anyone, after successfully completing this qualification, are the personal satisfaction of having acquired the finance and business skills, and better employment prospects.

Eligibility/Admission Criteria: The entry requirement of the ACCA programme is five (5) WASSCE credits, including both English and mathematics. Candidates with diplomas and degrees in accounting and finance from recognized colleges and universities can be admitted into the programme with possible exemptions.